Moving Update

My husband and my oldest son left today to go ahead of the rest of us to the new house.  (We planned this a long time ago and didn’t realize it was right before Thanksgiving, or we might have planned differently.)  We rented a small trailer and put several pieces of furniture and all or most of their belongs inside it.  I can’t believe how much stuff we were able to fit into that little trailer–four dressers, two bookshelves, and a ton of boxes.

However, my husband waited until the last minute to go through things and so we spent the last few days ripping apart the house in an effort to gather all of their things to take with them.  We also pulled down everything from our side of the attic and put it into the front room because I knew I wouldn’t be able to do it by myself after they left.  (The younger two aren’t strong enough to carry boxes over their heads from the attic access.  And I’m not inviting people into this place…)

As a result, the house is an absolute disaster.  Some rooms are not functional.  I’m feeling kind of overwhelmed and slightly claustrophobic (good thing it’s so nice outside).  I  have no idea what to do with some of this stuff or what some of it even is.  Why do we have so much stuff?  I feel like a tornado came through and I have to figure out what’s salvageable, what’s mine and what isn’t, and figure out a way to make it functional again with what’s left.

Anyway, due to how busy we were, I don’t have a doll post for this week.  The Alice’s Collection order came in, and it’s given me some motivation to take some pictures.  So hopefully I’ll share that soon, plus the other items that came in previously as well.  I just need a sunny day when I’m not trying to dig out of this mess!


P.S.  They’ll be coming back before Christmas (hopefully) and then we’ll move right after (hopefully).  As usual, plans are subject to change every five seconds.  And, don’t worry, I’ll be okay!

Leave a comment